

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE June 9, 2014 Contact: Laurel Patrick, (608) 267-7303

Governor Scott Walker Announces Appointments to Milwaukee County Mental Health Board

Madison – Governor Scott Walker announced appointments today to the Milwaukee County Mental Health Board; all appointments are effective June 9, 2014. The Department of Health Services will oversee the Board until January 1, 2015, at which point the Milwaukee County Executive will take control of the Board.

"Milwaukee County greatly needed oversight of their mental health facilities and policies," Governor Walker said. "The highly qualified members of this Board will offer their expertise and knowledge in order to help address the status of mental health care in Milwaukee County. I thank each of these individuals for stepping forward; this is a great step to providing increased care for those most in need."

Below are the appointments Governor Walker will be making to the Board:

Voting Members:

- Dr. Robert Chayer Psychiatrist/psychologist children: Dr. Chayer is the Medical Director of the Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Health at Children's Hospital of Wisconsin; he is also the vice-chair of Child and Adolescent Services for the Department of Psychiatry at the Medical College of Wisconsin. Dr. Chayer received his Medical Degree from Rush University in Chicago, IL.
- Dr. Maria Perez Psychiatrist/psychologist adults: Dr. Perez is a licensed psychologist and Behavioral Health Director at the Community Health Center in Milwaukee; she is a member of the American Psychological Association and of APA Division 17: Counseling Psychology. Dr. Perez received her Doctor of Philosophy in Counseling Psychology from Marquette University.
- Jeffrey Miller Mental health nurse: Mr. Miller is an assistant professor with the Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Medicine at the Medical College of Wisconsin and an adjunct faculty member at Marquette University's School of Nursing; he is the Chairman-Elect of the Wisconsin State Board of Nursing. Mr. Miller received his B.S.N., M.S.N., and D.N.P. from the University of Wisconsin–Milwaukee.
- Peter Carlson Community mental health provider: Mr. Carlson is the President of Aurora Psychiatric Hospital in Milwaukee; he is also a co-chair of the Milwaukee County Mental Health Redesign and Implementation Task Force. Mr. Carlson received his Master of Business Administration from Keller Graduate School of Management and a Master of Education from Wichita State University.
- Dr. Thomas Lutzow Finance/administration: Dr. Lutzow is the President and CEO of the Independent Care Health Plan (*i*Care) in Milwaukee, he previously served as the Vice-President at the Milwaukee Center for Independence. Dr. Lutzow received his Doctor of Philosophy from

Marquette University and a Master of Business Administration from the Keller Graduate School of Management.

Non-Voting Members:

- Dr. Jon Lehrmann Medical College of Wisconsin representative: Dr. Lehrmann is the Charles E. Kubly Professor in Psychiatry and Behavioral Medicine at the Medical College of Wisconsin; he is the Associate Chief of Staff for Mental Health at the Clement J. Zablocki VA Medical Center and the Chief Psychiatrist at Froedtert Hospital. Dr. Lehrmann received his Medical Degree at the Medical College of Wisconsin.
- Dr. Ronald Diamond University of Wisconsin representative: Dr. Diamond is a clinical consultant to the University of Wisconsin Department of Psychology as well as a consultant for the Wisconsin Bureau of Mental Health and Substance Abuse; he is a member of the American Psychiatric Association and the American Association of Community Psychiatry. Dr. Diamond received both a Master of Science and his Medical Degree from the University of Pennsylvania.

###